The World Is Too Much With Us

Wondering how I chose the title for this blog? Read this poem, and wonder no longer.

“The world is too much with us; late and soon,
Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers;
Little we see in Nature that is ours;
We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!
This Sea that bares her bosom to the moon;
The winds that will be howling at all hours,
And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers;
For this, for everything, we are out of tune;
It moves us not. Great God! I’d rather be
A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;
So might I, standing on this pleasant lea,
Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;
Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea;
Or hear old Triton blow his wreathèd horn.”
(William Wordsworth, Poems, in Two Volumes, 1807)

Wordsworth was a pretentious old man (don’t get me started) but in this case, I think he was on to something. I might not be living in the industrial age, but I am living in the age of information overload. Without making any sweeping statements that I’ll look back on and laugh at, I can see a clear parallel between the existential angst Wordsworth outlines and my own struggle to figure out where I want to go, both literally and figuratively, in my life.

Specifically, I want to test my own capabilities as a writer and a traveller, without letting my interests and desires be overshadowed by the expectations of society. (Like: get a good job. Get married. Look pretty. Have lots of friends. Just to name a few.)

So many of these expectations, whether spoken or silent, implicit or expressed, revolve around words: the labels we apply to ourselves and the labels we apply to other people. So, to me, “world” becomes “words”.

Is this pretentious? (Am I just as bad as Wordsworth?) Maybe. Who really cares what I do with my life, after all?

I do. And that’s why I’m here.

This blog is my attempt at carving out a space of my own in the world (even if I’m not sure what exactly that space should be yet), and to document my thoughts and adventures along the way. I hope you’ll join me!
One thought on “The World Is Too Much With Us

Leave a Reply

